Information about Art, Antiques and Auctions in Ireland and around the world
  • About Des
  • Contact

    St. Audoen’s Society of Bellringers (l to r) – Maurice O’Reilly,Julian West,Derek McEndoo,Jason Lynam, Seán Waldron, Kathleen McEndoo, Joe Kealy , Clodagh Canavan, Lesley Hayes, Robert MacDonald and Theresa Nolan.

    St Audoen’s Church and The Office of Public Works (OPW) are delighted to celebrate the 600th anniversary of three of its bells located in the church’s 15th-century bell tower.   To mark the occasion St Audoen’s Society of Bellringers will ring the bells on Saturday, August 26 at 2 pm. Nestled in the heart of the walled medieval part of Dublin, St Audoen’s Church at High St. in The Liberties was originally founded in 1190 and is the only remaining medieval parish church in the capital still in use.  The Office of Public Works who help preserve and maintain the site also welcome visitors to the historic location. A team of guides give insight into the chequered history of the church, the tower and the celebrated bells.

    St Audoen’s was crucial to the life of the medieval city. Here papal bulls were pronounced and public penances carried out. The church is dedicated to the seventh-century bishop of Rouen and patron saint of Normandy, whose feast day is August 24. 

    Comments are closed.